Picture




Romans 7: 18,19- For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh. For I have the desire to do what is right, but not the ability to carry it out. For I do not do the good that I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing.







Wow! I dare say that more candid words were never penned by anyone throughout the ages. Of course, we see in these verses that Paul doesn't specifically say what action he is talking about, but we get the idea that he is more than a bit frustrated.

I don't know about you, but I know that I am my worst critic. My tendency when I feel like I haven't measured up is to beat myself over the head with the shame and guilt of my actions or thoughts or words. I feel like I have to spend some amount of time sulking away from the presence of God before I can return to Him.

Can you imagine? Our all-seeing, everywhere-at-once God, saying, “Nope. Sorry Nate. You messed up pretty good right there. You have to spend 48 hours thinking this over before you can come and ask for my forgiveness.”

HA! That sounds ridiculous doesn't it?! It's too bad that we believe that lie so often. The heart of God is so much the opposite of this. He waits with patience and excitement for His children to return home- no matter how long they've been away. He is FULL of mercy and grace and forgiveness and patience.

Is God holy? Yes! Does His holiness demand holiness on our part? Yes it does. Do we reap the consequences of the mistakes we make? Yes we do; but let me tell you that even as walk through the consequences of our choices, God will walk with us and make a way for us! 

The point is this: when you or I fall down, we have a merciful God whose arm is stretched out to help us up even as we are falling down. His mercies are new every morning. Even if and when we are unfaithful to Him, He remains faithful to us.

Let me encourage you today, don't waste one more moment in guilt or shame. That isn't from God. Condemnation would keep you looking at your mistake. Conviction would open your eyes to your mistake and draw your eyes to God. Know that Jesus paid for every mistake- past, present, and future.

When you fall down, don't stay down. Get back up!








Al
4/8/2014 03:22:07 am

Wow, so true Nathan!! Truthful and beautifully worded!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Nate Long

    There are things that I like
    There are things that I love
    And there are things that I absolutely LIVE for!

    Archives

    December 2013

    Categories

    All