Do you ever want to change, but find that you don't know if you can? This blog is one of those things for me. I have always loved to write, but it's usually for myself in journals that are piling up around my office and house. Oh sure, I've written a few songs over the years, and post a little something every now and then… but by and large it's been kept under raps.

I wouldn't say it has been fear that has kept me from writing more publicly. I would say it's been more ignorance… or maybe this is just God's time for me. I don't know, and it doesn't really matter. The point is, I'M STARTING TODAY. Do I know what I'm doing? Absolutely not! Have I ever started anything online that involved more than signing in and posting a status update? Nope. But here I am. God spoke to me, I wasted a little time (let's just be honest), and now I'm doing it.

Here's the lesson that I'm learning in all of this: You have to come to the edge of what you believe in order to believe something new and greater. If I want to believe something greater, I have to first challenge my current belief. I have to ask myself "What if…"  If I'm used to running a 5k, and want to run a marathon, I have to ask myself "Do I believe I have what it takes to do this?". 

This is true for any area of life. If I want to improve my financial situation, I have to ask myself if I believe I have what it takes to spend less or find a better job… If I want to lose weight, I have to ask myself if I believe that I can change my eating habits and if I believe I can make it through a hard workout. 

You see, belief is what drives our behavior. The way you behave, the way you talk to and about others, the way you talk to and about yourself, and the way you talk to and about God are the best indicators of what you believe. You may not be willing to admit a harmful belief, but if you're willing to really look at your words and your actions as objectively as you can, you might just surprise yourself.

The problem is that most people have it backwards when it comes to standing at the edge of belief. When we get to a place where we have never been before, we instinctively say "I can't…." Let me encourage you in this: Just because you haven't accomplished your goal, or experienced God in a certain way, or lived at a new level- doesn't mean it isn't possible! Instead of saying "I can't…" when we stand at the edge of belief, we should be asking ourselves "Can I?" We should be asking, "What if there is more? What if God is bigger than I have experienced?" 

One thing is for certain, we all come to the edge of belief. The question is, how will we respond when we get there. Will we take the risk, and do those things that are unfamiliar and uncomfortable in order to experience more of God and greater things for our lives? Or will we retreat into the comfortable and stay the same?





Eric Schroeder
12/21/2013 05:35:13 am

Very good Nate. Way to step out.

Your right God wants us to say I can. If God calls he wants us to take the first unknown step out on faith. If we rely on Him whole heartedly He will give us all what we need to succeed. Jesus said I will never leave you or forsake you and that we can do ALL things through Christy who strengthens us.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Nate Long

    There are things that I like
    There are things that I love
    And there are things that I absolutely LIVE for!

    Archives

    December 2013

    Categories

    All