This is a question I hear from time to time in my house. My 7 year old is a very curious boy, and there are few questions I love answering more than questions about God.

“How can God be everywhere all at once?”
“So, He's big enough to hold the oceans in His hands, and small enough to live in my heart?”...

As much as I try, I will never be able to answer these questions to my son's satisfaction- because I don't fully know the answers! Oh sure I know that God is Omnipresent, but I can't really fathom what that means. I know that He is in control of the Universe, and yet is personal enough to live in me- but I can never really GET IT.

We all wake up every day and put on glasses. We all see our world through the lens of our experience. We would call this our paradigm or our worldview. Everything is filtered through this. The way we respond and relate with people, our habits, our belief systems... AND OUR VIEW OF GOD.


So, what does God look like to you?


I'm going to make a bold statement right now, and please hear it's heart. There isn't a single one of us that understands God. Not one. God is far too infinite, far too complex, and far too objective for us to ever have a full understanding of His Holiness. Our minds and hearts see God through the lens of what we have experienced and what we have been taught. We have at best, a very subjective view of Who God really is.

Now let me back that up by saying this is also what makes God too awesome to comprehend! In 2 Corinthians 12:9 the Lord spoke to Paul saying “ My grace is sufficient for you. My Power works best in weakness.” How wonderful is our God! We can't possibly reach Him in our strength, and so He has reached out to us. He is a holy God who cannot look upon sin, and so He sent Jesus to take the punishment for our sinful nature.

Get this: “God, whom I can never fully understand, whom I could never merit favor with, whom I could not reach in my strength (deep breath) wanted relationship with me- that's right, YOU- enough that HE made the way to have relationship. God has reached out to us who were weak in regards to reaching God.




Here's what I'm trying to say. There's more to God than what we have experienced or ever can experience. We wake up every day with an idea of how we think God works... what we think He looks like. It doesn't matter if you're Atheist, Agnostic, Muslim, Jew, Buddhist, Christian... We ALL have a view of what God looks like. The question we need to ask ourselves is are we going to be humble enough to let Him tell us what He really looks like?  




Leave a Reply.

    Nate Long

    There are things that I like
    There are things that I love
    And there are things that I absolutely LIVE for!

    Archives

    December 2013

    Categories

    All